woven carpeting

Discussion in 'Carpet Q&A' started by Michael Masters, Nov 7, 2010.

1. Michael Masters

Michael Masters Learnin & Helpin Charter Member

I have been installing carpet for 25 years, but do to my location(Dalton) I have only installed broadloom tufted products for the most part. I have some scrap pieces of very intricate woven goods in my basement from somewhere(?) that I have been experimenting with; mainly to make sure I could seam the products. Everything went well but I noticed that one woven product which has very fine yarn was difficult to seam seal with the thermo due to the fact that no matter what I did the yarn somehow was attracted to the tip of the gun and it loaded the tip of the gun with yarn. I did manage to get thermo on the backing and none on the upper portions of the yarn though. Seamed very well, no stretch needed too.
    I also noticed that the Orcon xu90 did not stick well to the backing of my test pieces, but a cheap Capitol tape and a Roberts tape stuck well. I always thought the xu90 was suppose to be a better tape.

2. Daris Mulkin

Daris Mulkin The One and Only Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member

I'm still old school when it comes to woven. I still use latex to seal the edges.

Have you tried the Kool Glide?

Also XU 90 is a urethane tape I would think it would hold. But not seeing the backing I'm not sure. Some Wilton's have a very slippery backs that tape won't stick too. At the moment I couldn't tell you which one it is. Brain freeze. But that one we used to coat the seam line with contact to get holding power for hot melt. Maybe it was dry back Wilton or something like that.

One thing about the urethane tapes is you have to let them cool longer than conventional tapes.

Daris

3. RFI

RFI Mr. Nefarious Senior Member

Great post Daris,

I learned something from that...... Thank you!

Rob

4. David Hunt

David Hunt Charter Member Senior Member Published