Which pad to use?

Discussion in 'Carpet Q&A' started by jakeosmom, Apr 8, 2011.

1. jakeosmom

jakeosmom New Member

Hello. I'm new to searching for new carpet to replace the 11.5 yr old carpet in my home and have been lurking here for a few months to get the hang of things. I've been to a few flooring stores now and have brought home some samples, so I'm moving along!

The first store I went to has the carpet I love for a price that was about $1.50 more per sq. ft. than I wanted to spend. But, that store had the special pet padding (Stainmaster Ultra Life Carpet Cushion) and I have a dog with bladder issues.

The 2nd store I went to had "eh" carpet and the same padding.

The 3rd store I went to had nice carpet for good prices, but rebond padding only (um, if I remember correctly, the salesperson suggested 1/2" 8 lb. or it might have been 6 lb. rebond).

So, I've learned enough about the carpet, I think, to pull my own and have questions about the padding.

1. For 2 kids (ages 11 and 9 who don't spill much, but rather grind stuff into the carpet and leave pens laying around) and the peeing dog, which pad is best? Is the special "pet padding" worth it?

2. Is a foam-type pad better than rebond?

3. My kids' rooms are over the garage which is blazingly hot in the summer and freezing cold in the winter. See question 2 for this application or does it matter?

4. I've been looking at labels on the backs of the samples and they don't specify padding types. The salesperson today at the carpet store really was clueless and tried to talk me into liking the super thick rebond they used in one section of the store that was so bouncy it was like walking on a trampoline. Yuck. Plus I know that wears out carpet faster. How am I supposed to know which padding to use?

Thanks for any help you can give me!

Heather

2. Jim McClain

Jim McClain Owner/Founder Administrator