Wet floors under our new Porcelain Wood Plank Tile

Discussion in 'Ceramic and Stone Q&A' started by Antishel2004, Jun 20, 2019.

1. Antishel2004

Antishel2004 Member

Hi, I'm new to this so please forgive me if as I have no idea how all this work...
    We remolded our Houston home (built in 1968) this past year. A complete remodel, we ripped out walls, the kitchen and rebuilt all new cabinets and added new flooring throughout entryway, office, kitchen, breakfast area and living room. Open concept with beautiful large hardwood looking porcelain tile planks in January 2019. Also on the first floor next to these rooms is a master bath with porcelain tiles 12X12 and bedroom with carpet as well as a dinning room with hard wood floors.. all of these rooms are just fine. A few weeks after the install we noticed water coming up through the grout, several puddles, along with white powder and it just kept spreading. We called our floor company who really had no idea what it was or what to do. We call several concrete slab companies who told us the water table in the Houston area has been up since Hurricane Harvey and our house was built with no moister barrier. We were told that we needed gutters and to change our landscaping that there was most likely water under our house. We called plumbers and there is no leak, we have added gutters. The weather has dried up and we have been without rain for well over a month now.