Vinyl plank vs tile plank in higher end home?

Discussion in 'Help Selecting the Best Floor Covering' started by DaWill, Oct 4, 2017.

Vinyl Plank or Tile Plank?

1. Vinyl: Karndean Korlok Reclaimed French Oak (RKP8109)

2. Tile: Mediterranea-usa boardwalk atlantic plank (48"x8")

1. DaWill

DaWill New Member

I'm having a hard time deciding between flooring for my house. We have about 2k sqft downstairs that we are ripping out, but are replacing with either tile plank or vinyl plank.

Our house is in the 600-650 range I suppose. So I'm really concerned about the vinyl plank and impact to resale value. However we have a pool and so wood is a no go (have it now along with carpet). Wife is leaning towards tile, but flooring installer really seems to think we should go with Kardean's new Korlok vinyl plank. The reclaimed french oak does look pretty nice.

I realize there are pro's and cons for all flooring types, but I have no background with vinyl, but I have heard Kardean is top notch. But I'm also looking at some pretty nice tile (mediterranea atlantic city 48"x8"). Cost isn't really a concern per se. However with kids and pets, and the pool I'm a little worried about slick tile. I've been told the vinyl is a little softer since it's floating and maintains traction better when wet. However I have no idea how vinyl will hold up long term, or if it's going to look "cheap" if I decide to resell in 5 years.

Long story short, is high end Vinyl plank good enough for higher end homes? The tile will definitely cost me more though (~$5k+), but I'm also not 100% of my installers motivations for pushing the vinyl over the tile, my best interest or theirs.
  2. Jim McClain

Jim McClain Owner/Founder Administrator

You seemed to have already made your decision, or at least indicated which direction you were leaning when you posted this in the Vinyl Q&A forum. I moved it to this more appropriate forum.