Variation in PetProof brand carpet

Discussion in 'Carpet Q&A' started by Logan, Jul 13, 2018.

1. Logan

Logan New Member

Hi Everyone,
    This is my first time on this forum. I have a question about variation in carpet batches. My wife and I recently purchased PetProof brand carpet from Home Depot. When it arrived we thought it didn't look or feel quite right compared to our sample. The delivered carpet felt less dense and seemed to hold imprints more clearly. The fibers seemed to be shinier too. I've attached two pictures (one in shade, one in full sun) of the sample and delivered carpet. We ordered it in style Gazelle II but we thought they might have sent us Gazelle I (style info below).

We refused installation and Home Depot is investigating. So far they say that the paperwork points to the correct carpet being delivered and have sent a sample to the manufacturer for a density test. We are currently waiting on the results of that test.

I expected there might be some slight variation in color, but did not expect the carpet to feel significantly different. I'm not sure how much you can tell from the pictures, but is this much variation expected between carpet batches?

Thank you for any insights or advice!

Logan

IMG_8346.JPG IMG_8348.JPG
    PetProof Gazelle II (expected carpet):
    Material: 100% Triexta
    Face weight: 55oz
    Density: 3334
    Pile Height (in.): 0.5938

PetProof Gazelle I (maybe delivered carpet):
    Material: 75% Triexta/25% PET
    Face weight: 45oz
    Density: 1620
    Pile Height (in.): The HD website says 1 in., but that seems wrong

2. Mark Brown

Mark Brown On The Surface Flooring I Support TFP

From the pictures it sure looks like you got shamboozled.
    Shade variations are common in carpets, hell they usually cant even get it right from right to left, but those do look like 2 different qualities. Pictures are hard but thats my 2 cents

3. Chris 45

Chris 45 Director of P.R. on some deserted island. I Support TFP