Time of year to start a project...

Discussion in 'Hardwood and Laminates Q&A' started by Ken M., Dec 24, 2017.

1. Ken M.

Ken M. Member

...in Vancouver?
    I am a newbie to hardwood flooring installation, with otherwise reasonable related practical experience, and am absorbing everything I can get my hands on, and one thing I've noticed about hardwood flooring is:
    -there seems to be a LOT of contention on almost every aspect of the craft! Which is good, I suppose because it ought to bring out the best solutions with logic, reason and best of all, PROOF.

One thing I am hoping there may be a significant concensus on is: even after a month of acclimitization, is winter a bad time to begin and, (hopefully), complete a floating engineered hardwood floor in Vancouver, BC? Additionally, is there an IDEAL time?

This project also includes some stairs, which I suspect just might influence the answer...?

Thanks in advance!

2. Mark Brown

Mark Brown On The Surface Flooring I Support TFP

If your house locked up and you have HVAC running then there is no real time of your that should make much difference. I am over here on Vancouver Island and we bang the board all year long. One could make the argument that spring and fall would be "best" for installations because they represent the median levels of weather however for you and me my friend we have 3 seasons of SOAKED and one of DRY so really....

Why are you looking at a floating installation?

3. Ken M.

Ken M. Member

Hi @Mark Brown ;
    Yep, you're right about the essential lack of a true median in our respective climes, so that makes sense to me. Just wanted to make sure.