Thoughts on Forbo L910 for cork

Discussion in 'Cork Flooring Q&A' started by jojo, Sep 2, 2015.

1. jojo

jojo New Member

Hi, Folks:

I'm wondering if Forbo L910 will adhere natural cork sheet underlayment properly to a concrete slab.

The Forbo technical bulletin does say it can lay down Bulletin Board, which is some kind of cork-based product, though it's got a jute backing like Marmoleum sheet. The stuff I'm using is your standard 6.5mm / 1/4" sheet cork. Never used it before, but it was recommended under my heating mat.

I just find myself wanting to start first thing tomorrow on this, not drive all over town looking for a lousy gallon of Roberts 7250, which is what the manufacturer recommends "for best results."

I do think it's a bit nuts to use anything other than what's recommended, and I've never done it before, but then again, maybe I'm overthinking it. And it really kills me that I have this spare unopened gallon of L910. I need some feedback.

;) OK, go ahead. Let's hear it! And thanks.

2. Mike Antonetti

Mike Antonetti I Support TFP Senior Member

I've read it says not for flooring.

As Stephanie has said, some roll cork product is loose laid, I guess for floating type floors.

I have seen urethane adhesives recommended for cork.

Adhesives are tricky, even the right stuff can fail if conditions aren't right, set time,etc.

Not sure of what flooring you're installing but doesn't appear the adhesive withstands forces applied to flooring in use.
  3. Bud Cline

Bud Cline Tile Expert Charter Member Senior Member Published

Most people don't wake up in the morning and say to themselves: I think today I will shoot myself in the foot.

This is what you are suggesting, and asking us to help you pull the trigger. Ain't gonna happen!:)
  4. The Forbo L190w CLEARLY states: "Not for use with flooring, wall base and wall panels."

Guess that's a "no".