The blame game in education: employee or true independent installer

Discussion in 'Industry News, Training & Organizations' started by rusty baker, Oct 11, 2008.

1. rusty baker

rusty baker Well-Known Member

Because of being picky, I have worked for many retailers thru the years. Almost all of them were only concerned with getting it installed so they could get the rest of the money. They always said, just install it, we'll worry about problems later. I'd say no and be looking for another job. That is why I have been an independent installer for several years. If a job is worth doing, It is worth doing right.

2. Nick Arrera

Nick Arrera Resting In Peace

Re: Moisture readings and staying on schedule

Same here Rusty .. There was a time years ago when stores wanted only quality installers ..
    But that has become a myth ..

3. stullis

stullis Charter Member Senior Member

Same here.
    recently did some jobs for another retailer, talked into it by another installer who is "making great money" lmao, nothing has changed, same BS and lies. :(

4. Kman

Kman Tile Expert I Support TFP Senior Member Published

We, as a society, have brought this on ourselves. Some of it is due to the public's ignorance of the industry and what it takes to do a good job. A lot of it is pure greed and impatience. What's the name of the company out of Chi-town that offers carpet installed the next day? (Empire, maybe?) Customers take advantage of their next day service because they don't want to wait....not for anything. I understand that there are rare cases where service is needed very quickly, but in most of the cases I've dealt with it is like Rusty said, the builder wants the rest of their money, or the homeowner wants to be walking on new carpet tomorrow.

I've also dealt with this a few times, and more recently I've let jobs go because of it. It's really no different than for the reasons stated above. Cheap, fast, and get paid right now.

5. Tandy Reeves