Steam mop damage to sealed cement floor

Discussion in 'Cleaning, Maintenance & Restoration' started by Kristin Mestyan, Sep 21, 2019.

1. Kristin Mestyan

Kristin Mestyan Pro Member

Hi there everyone, my name is Kristin of KM Pro Clean. I'm a professional cleaner, but I've made a mistake on a sealed cement floor and am looking for advice? When I arrived at the job their worklist was painting as a priority which I occasionally do. I didn't pack the car for painting so had only one available drop cloth. After painting, there were some minute specs of paint on the sealed cement floor from the roller, where I didn't have the drop cloth positioned properly. I normally just use a razor on hard surfaces, as when carefully used, lifts all paint without damage. I hesitate to use any chemicals, even vinegar, as I know they can just discolor or damage particular finishes. On this floor, it wasn't possible because the cement or finish was rough in texture. In past jobs with similar circumstances I've used my steam mop on a low setting to help loosen the paint for easier removal. Not a terrific idea on this floor as it left marks ( lines) where I used the steamer. I talked to one of the owners at the juice bar about the damage and she wanted to check in with her husband about the finish and what could be done, but judging on past communication at this busy place, I'm not sure if that will ever happen. I'm heading back today to finish the painting job (with a multitude of drop cloths ) and interior clean. I would love to be able to fix the floors while I am there as it is a 2 hour drive from my house. I wish now that I had taken photographs, but the floor felt like something new to me. Definitely cement underneath, and sealed with something clear that almost felt like rubber when the edge of the razor caught it? Definitely a different finish from what I'm used to. I consulted some sites online about steam mop damage, but everything brings me directly back to resurfacing. I was