smartcore ultra

Discussion in 'Vinyl Flooring Q&A' started by Stuart Daniel, Sep 12, 2019 at 4:30 PM.

1. Stuart Daniel

Stuart Daniel New Member

I just purchased and installed smartcore ultra plank flooring in my family room. Day 2 after install, i notice that there is separation in the end joints of some of the planks. I had cheap laminate before, so it did the same thing, but worse and I get that you get what you pay for. However, is this a normal thing for a couple days after the install? And yes they were all locked together, listened for the tell tale click when installing. And I am a 30 construction professional, so I understand the basics of most residential systems.

2. Chris 45

Chris 45 Director of P.R. on some deserted island. I Support TFP

The locking mechanism may have broken if you didn’t angle the butt joint in enough then went to tap it together. Is your subfloor flat within specs? An uneven subfloor will lead to broken joints but not usually within 2 days.

Are you able to get a pull bar into the joint or behind a plank to tap them back together? If so, put a dab of super glue on the joint and tap it back together. Lather, rinse, repeat.

3. Mike Antonetti

Mike Antonetti I Support TFP Senior Member

Ha, you think anything about this type of flooring is logical? It’s illogical compared to construction practices you’re familiar with. Point a-b is shortest distance. When there’s a Valley, that leaves the a to b now to flex down into valley requiring more material to pull down. It now needs more force to push back up into locking position which is not provided resulting in disconnected end joints.