Shot blaster right tool?

Discussion in 'Tools, Equipment and Supplies' started by Jonathan Garcia, May 17, 2019.

1. Jonathan Garcia

Jonathan Garcia Pro Member

Hey guys, its been a while since I've posted here, been really busy (guess that's a good thing). Im really interested in possible buying a shot blaster, possibly the Blastrac 1-8dm, for getting floors ready for SLU/ Moisture control systems/ and even painting floors. I've never used one before and I'll probably rent one next week to test it out on my sisters porch and garage, its concrete and has paint on it, but it shows the cup wheel marks from the grinder on the porch. Its uneven has dips and hills, would shot blasting remove the latex paint and leave a smooth surface in the garage which has not been grinded? The Paint is latex meant for garages, its suppose to be 4mils thick each coat with a max of 2 coats. or is there a better way of removing the paint?

2. epoxyman

epoxyman Pro Member

Got a few shot blasters
    The 8” and the 15”
    From blastrac the 8” is 120 30 amp
    And the 15” is 230 3 phase 30 amp
    Been using the big one this week on about 3,290 sf after we did the edge work took about 5 hours to blast the floor.

They will remove paint but you really need a dust separating before the vacuum if not your filters will get messed up fast
    We use 220 size shot for epoxy paint floors like in a airplane hangar
    And 280-330 for quartz and trowel down floors

You do have to keep up on the maintenance of them and I keep about
    1,000 to 1,500 in extra parts just in case something breaks down
    Like blast wheels or liners or cables
    Filters for the vacuum

My little one I payed about 6,700 for it
    And the bigger one blaster and vacuum was a little over 33,000 total then about
    1,800 to 2,000 in number 8 power cord
    But I have about 300 lf for each

Ron

Attached Files:

Last edited: May 17, 2019
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Jonathan Garcia