Pricing VCT & Prep Questions

Discussion in 'Commercial Flooring Sales & Installation' started by Josef Fischer, Jul 10, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Josef Fischer

Josef Fischer Pro Member

Hi,

A bit of background, I work in Atlanta GA as an architect on schools, typically on renovations/additions at approx. 10-30,000 SF, but also new schools with approx 100-150,000 SF. As an architect, I rarely have to deal with the nitty-gritty of pricing adds or changes, and in house we have RSMeans 2016, as well as flooring manufacturer reps that come in with (usually low) expected materials+installed costs that we can expect for their products.

90% of our work is VCT, with gym floors and admin/media center 2x2 carpet tile thrown in the mix.

So why I've joined, we have a county that expects all GC Potential change orders to provide backup showing all material line item adds and all man-hour at pervailing wage/hr adds to the job. A school came back with a moisture issue (99% RH) on 4 of the 6 phases (no vapor barrier, built in the 70s) at 24,168 SF of affected VCT. VCT replacement is all the school corridors, so working around lockers in place, no base at lockers, base at walls, working to the existing VCT in classrooms and leaving classroom VCT in place. We've gone through a number of products that the flooring installer and Architect recommended for a moisture barrier that the county rejected (too costly) and settled on the owner recommendation, Stauf R701, a urethane that according to the cutsheet, can be installed up to 90% humidity, but the owner called Stauf directly and got them to approve it for our school... I know... We also worked directly with the 3 crews from 3 installing companies that were subbed from the finishing subcontractor, since they were not familiar with Stauf R701, to see how long it took them extra to do the work and come up with a reasonable add.