Pounding a finger instead of tackstrip nail

Discussion in 'Health & Safety Forum' started by Lib McYennik, Apr 10, 2014.

1. Lib McYennik

Lib McYennik Pro Member

Ever hit your finger or thump while nailing strip on concrete?
    One time years ago when I was an apprentice we were doing a house that was all on concrete...At the time I was using a 28oz Plumb framing axe...you know the ones with the waffle type head?...Anyways it was Friday and I was on vacation as soon as we were done..During the stripping mode I rared back and boom!...hit my thump square on..it became part of the tackstrip...it just flattened my thump..it hurt so bad! Anyways I struggled thru the job but we got it done...That afternoon my wife and I drove from San Jose to Oregon to visit my brother and his family...When we got there I was in so much pain my thump was throbbing and felt like it was going to explode everytime my heart beat...My brother gave me a small drill bit and told me to start drilling my thump nail witb my other hand..At that point I was willing to do anything!..I started drilling very gently spinning the bit back and forth...It took about 15 minutes or so...when i got thru the nail blood squirted like a volcano erupting! After that the pain was gone!
    Something I will never ever forget!
    How about you guys, ever do anything that stupid?

2. Daris Mulkin

Daris Mulkin The One and Only Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member

The real bitch of it is when you go bck after it quits throbbing a little and the very first swing you hit it again. Don't ask me how I know.

:old:

Daris

3. Jim McClain

Jim McClain Owner/Founder Administrator

Interesting NEW topic. :D

4. polestretch

polestretch Senior Member