Pancake Air Compressor Woes

Discussion in 'Tools, Equipment and Supplies' started by Jim McClain, May 14, 2019.

1. Jim McClain

Jim McClain Owner/Founder Administrator

When I was a mad master installer, way back in the early aughts (2003-4?), I bought this twin tank compressor. It has been used for installing hardwood, trims of all sorts, painting and keeping the air up in my Segway. It has been pretty faithful for a lot of years and the only things I've had to deal with were hoses.

air-compressor-emglo.jpg

It popped a tank today. Little, tiny hole in the top tank that points right at the side of the bottom tank - I can get my finger on the hole, but that's about it. I am desperately trying to finish the bathroom remodel I started last summer, just now getting the drawer fronts done and Psssssssssss, the dang tank springs a leak. Most of the work I have left involves the finish nailer.

bath-remodel-vanity11.jpg

Back when I bought the Emglo, I think I paid more than a hundred bucks, maybe even more than 2, I don't remember. I found 2 air compressors I could get in Reno that I could afford, both of them $99.00. There were cheaper ones, but they didn't have very good reviews and they didn't have very good specs either.

air-compressor-craftsman.jpg air-compressor-porter-cable-c2002-64_1000.jpg

The Lowe's 6 gal. Pancake Compressor is a Craftsman, but it looks exactly like and has nearly identical specs as the Home Depot 6 gal. Compressor branded Porter-Cable. I'm guessing they are the same product. I get a 10% Veterans discount at both stores (I have to be sneaky at HD because their discount is only good if your disability is service connected - it takes a clerk who doesn't feel like checking the VA card real close). But with the drive over and back, 160+ miles to get a 9.90 discount, the compressor would cost me more than 130.00 with gas.