Osha compliance

Discussion in 'Industry News, Training & Organizations' started by wood butcher, Feb 10, 2015.

1. wood butcher

wood butcher Charter Member

In simple plain English

Can somebody please tell me if I need to be OSHA compliant?

I recently had a call from a company trying to sell me an OSHA compliance package / handbook for a little under $1000. He told me an OSHA inspector could request to see my handbook and I had 4 hrs to produce it, or else face an indictment.

I am a sole trader
    I have no employees
    I have no sub-contractors
    I have no premises

I have general liabilty and vehicle insurance.

I am an independant flooring contractor working in domestic properties.

2. Nate Hall

Nate Hall Types With Elbows Senior Member Published

Sounds like a scam to me. I never heard of any "handbook" but if one exists it could be used to increase the fines and remove any negotiating power one might have out of ignorance of the rules.

3. seamsealer

seamsealer Pro Member

The book looks free to me.

OSHA web site. https://www.osha.gov/Publications/smallbusiness/small-business.html

Second paragraph mentions a PDF file of the handbook.
    About this Handbook

This handbook is provided to owners, proprietors and managers of small businesses by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), an agency of the U.S. Department of Labor. For additional copies of this publication, write to the U.S. Government Printing Office, (GPO), Superintendent of Documents, Mail Stop SDE, 732 N. Capitol Street, NW, Washington, DC 20401, or call the OSHA Publications Office at (202) 693-1888, or fax (202) 693-2498 for ordering information. Please note that the entire text of the Small Business Handbook is available on OSHA's website [PDF - 260 KB].

4. Nate Hall

Nate Hall Types With Elbows Senior Member Published

AHA!!! The worst kind of scam...a government scam.:(