Need to add second sub floor layer.

Discussion in 'Floor Preparation' started by RickA1, Aug 29, 2016.

1. RickA1

RickA1 Member

Hello. We decided to install engineered hardwood in our home. I am no pro but am handy and have done lots of DIY including finishing my basement on my own, which included the laminate floor, so I thought, how difficult can it be to install engineered hardwood? Well, we haven't even decided on color yet and here I am in need of expert advice.
    Half of our first floor has real hardwood, half has carpet. My first problem? The hardwood is probably one inch thick. The engineered is a lot less. Unless I make up for the lost thickness, the door jambs/trim will not look good without major work (If anyone knows of some way to make this easy, please feel free to suggest....).

So here's where my question comes. Is adding another plywood/particle board layer to the whole first floor something common? Any tips on how to attach to the first layer (Overlap, glued, screwed).

Thanks in advance. I am sure there will be more questions.

Rick.

2. Solid hardwood is 3/4" thick, minus any sand and finish.

You should pick your hardwood to determine what your fill height is.

I would want to inspect subfloor to ensure all previous work is done correctly. No particleboard!

3. RickA1

RickA1 Member

Thanks Mike. Yes, I need to get the right numbers to figure out my gap....but then adding a second layer is not far fetched for my situation? I already know I want to fix some squeaks.
    So how would you attach the second plywood layer?

Thanks!!!!

4. Purchase
    Acclimate properly (time, upright,spaced,moisture level)
    I like to offset 2ft from subfloor, side sheets offset by half. If subfloor perpendicular to joists, then same direction.

Fastened according to underlayment manufacturers recommendations.