Neat little trick

Discussion in 'Food for The Floor Pro' started by Daris Mulkin, Nov 30, 2013.

1. Daris Mulkin

Daris Mulkin The One and Only Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member

This may have been posted befrore but to bad I'm going to post this trick a friend just told me about. I tried it and works great. I'm no cook and hate it but with the wife not here I guess I'm stuck.
    Frying eggs without flippig them. Spray your pan,we use olive oil but anyway toss in your eggs. Then put in 2 ice cubes and fry. Eggs turn out nice and pretty without turning them. No broken yolks.

:old:

Daris

2. TwoStar

TwoStar Maybe Three

I think thats called a basted egg. It's what we used to do when I was a shortorder cook back in the day. Egg on the grill, little splash of water, cover it for about 15 seconds. It looked like old dog eyes where they are starting to "frost over".

3. Mike Sliwinski

Mike Sliwinski The Doctor Is In I Support TFP Senior Member

Cool, nice trick Daris, but I like flipping them over up in the air, makes me feel like a chef and believe me when I say Barry and many others here have nothin to worry about. Get well soon Mrs. Mulkin

Mike

4. Daris Mulkin

Daris Mulkin The One and Only Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member

You can flip them all you want but my with cooking skills I have a hard time heating water. I always want to burn it.:(
    Sean I'm sure it is basting, but they tasted good.
    Maybe the wife comes home to day Mike. Has to have a chest xray first and then be read. If she does it will be after 5pm.

:old:

Daris

5. Barry Carlton

Barry Carlton Senior Member Published

Works in the oven too

6. TwoStar

TwoStar Maybe Three

...go on...how hot? how long? specifics, man! ;)

7. Barry Carlton

Barry Carlton Senior Member Published

Every had Huevos Rancheros (or it's southern equivalent with bisquit dough sausage and gravy)? They are finished in the oven and the egg cooks in the liquid.