Movie theater walls

Discussion in 'Carpet Q&A' started by FloorConnoisseur87, Jul 4, 2017.

1. FloorConnoisseur87

FloorConnoisseur87 Pro Member

So I'm an experienced floor installer, but have never carpeted walls to this extent. I'm hoping for some tips. The carpet is real thin, 6ft wide, vertical lines, and the carpet is being installed vertically. Just looking for some tips to make it easier! Thanks

2. Chris 45

Chris 45 Director of P.R. on some deserted island. I Support TFP

6' wide and thin makes me think of the cheesy outdoor carpet or boat carpet. Super light to work with but if it's the thin stuff I'm thinking of, glue will squeeze through in a hot second.

I would think a spray adhesive and a few tacks would be sufficient to hold it on to a wall. If you try and trowel glue for this I'd say use a fine notch trowel and let the glue tack a bit before installing. I did one a couple weeks ago with a 1/16 notch and a tad of glue oozed through at one of my tells (The blob that is left when troweling glue and you switch directions). So you can see it doesn't take much to ooze through. Have plenty of wet rags ready.

• Funny Funny x 1
  3. Mike Antonetti

Mike Antonetti I Support TFP Senior Member

How high? What's the substrate? I'd want to use the correct (flammability consult, letter from manufacturer)spray adhesive. Scissor lifts (depending on grade of slab)or telescoping lift times 2, some type of roller for pressing into adhesive.

So fasten up top and let roll down gradually. Side lighting on walls would show any areas that may bubble. I know a local guy that traveled doing theatres.

Last edited: Jul 4, 2017
  4. Daris Mulkin

Daris Mulkin The One and Only Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member