Learning carpet installation

Discussion in 'Carpet Q&A' started by Jim78, Sep 19, 2018.

1. Jim78

Jim78 Pro Member

Hello everyone,

I am a flooring installer. I install ceramic, vinyl and wood. I also do water damage jobs, so I am familiar with carpet and pad reinstalls.

I currently don't install carpet, but I would like to start. I would like to learn from an experienced installer, but I am not opposed to classroom learning.

Here are some questions I have.
    How long do you think it would take to learn basic installs? Nothing fancy. Just a basic 2-3 bedroom and living room install.
    How much would you charge someone for this?

Any other ideas and suggestions are welcomed.

Thanks,
    Jim

• Like Like x 1
  2. Jonathan Garcia

Jonathan Garcia Pro Member

You could take CFI Residential carpet installation course, in 5 weeks you should be able to install carpet in a 3 bedroom house.

3. Mike Antonetti

Mike Antonetti I Support TFP Senior Member

You’re throwing me off, usually carpet is the first learned, then installers go after the money (vinyl, ceramic,wood) if the carpet installation isn’t doing it for them.

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. kwfloors

kwfloors Fuzz on the brain Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member

So many variables to doing that. Wool, sisal, axeminister, nylon, poly just to name some, all are different in one way or another. For cheaper plush carpets you could learn fairly fast.

5. Incognito

Incognito No more Mr. Nice Guy! I Support TFP Senior Member

Low end, "builder grade" or "apartment grade" installation skills could be learned in a month or three of on the job training.

As mentioned above there are higher level materials that require MUCH greater experience and...........talent that not anyone or everyone wlll ever have.