layout software for pattern match question

Discussion in 'Carpet Q&A' started by NJBILLT, Mar 24, 2017.

1. NJBILLT

NJBILLT Member

Do you guys use layout software to figure this out, and do you make accurate measurements to input. Because the guy that came out from Lowes rounded everything up room by room, added up the sq ft in his head and then added 15%. He says because of the pattern match he needs nearly double the sq ft. I think he doesn't know how to figure it out. Advice please.

2. Mike Sliwinski

Mike Sliwinski The Doctor Is In I Support TFP Senior Member

I do or shall I say did use software for many years as a measuring service. I'm also an installer and understand the real benefits, both for consumer and installers, to have a blueprint.

A plan clearly shows seam placements and could also document special services needed like shimming to marble sills. A typical measure fee from a big box stores is probably 35.00 to 50.00 bucks, so they need to be fast and that means length x width x 15% and
    no plan.

The installation company I contracted for was willing to pay more for the added service of a plan. Now, cuts, for each room are made at
    the shop, even splits for long hallways will create efficiency of install. Every now and then, the blueprint method would
    save hundreds if not thousands of dollars in material alone, by utilizing cut off pieces from odd shaped areas.

Hey, it could be a fun little project for you. Do you have any
    'plan drawing' software ? or maybe an old fashion scale ruler and graph paper......... We could talk you through the details and double check the calculations, it's what we like to do around here @ TFP

Plan the work and work the plan :yesss:

Mike

3. Daris Mulkin

Daris Mulkin The One and Only Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member

Do a lay out of the areas being carpeted along with the pattern match, it don't have to be pretty just have the numbers in it and post it.

:old:

Daris

4. NJBILLT