Kerdi membrane question.

Discussion in 'Ceramic & Stone Sales and Installations' started by Mill-End, Jan 16, 2017.

1. Mill-End

Mill-End Pro Member

Hi guys and gals. I've been installing for about 15 years now and can probably count on both hands how many ceramic jobs I've done. I mostly do wood/lvt,lvp/lam. type stuff. Only ceramic tile jobs I've done have been floors on new concrete so pretty cut and dry.

I've been remodeling my bathroom and I'm finally getting to the custom shower. I built a 5'x5' shower and used the kerdi system. Pan/drain with membrane over greenboard. I tiled the cieling by flat troweling unmodifed mortar to the membrane then raking out mortar as instructed. Went ahead and back buttered the 12x12 porcelain tile for safe measure and slapped them up. Pulled a couple down and definitely got 90-95% coverage.

Only problem I am having is the mess. Wow, I was covered in mortar. Luckily I covered the flat pebble floor with ramboard or else I'd be cleaning mortar in those cracks for days. 90% of the mess came from the raking.

My question is, what is the technical reason why I couldn't flat trowel the membrane and rake the mortar on the tile? I've googled it and found many, many people saying don't do it, but most of the reasoning is simply it's not what's recommended.

I mortared some spare membrane I had on a spare piece of green board. Let it dry over night and tried my method. Put a thin layer on the kerdi and troweled the tile with a 1/4x3/8 trowel. Set the tile and pulled it back off and definitely had just as much coverage as the ceiling. I then scraped the mortar off and did it again and let it sit 24 hours. I tried prying the tile off and destroyed the greenboard in the process.

So it seems to me it will in fact work even though it's not the recommended practice. Well hell, glueing carpet over existing glue isn't recommended either and people do it all the time with no problems. Am I safe to go ahead and use this method for the walls?