Is "Sealing" required for LVT (Duraceramic)?

Discussion in 'Vinyl Flooring Q&A' started by Otis E, Apr 2, 2017.

1. Otis E

Otis E New Member

I am a newbie to this site and to flooring in general. I just found this website and think/hope you can help me sort through some of the information I have been receiving.

I am planning to replace 20+ year old vinyl sheet flooring in kitchen and laundry room with a vinyl tile - either Congoleum DuraCeramic or Mannington Alterna. The kitchen is over a basement, the laundry room is on a concrete slab. It appears the vinyl in the laundry room is glued directly to the concrete slab. I cannot tell what if anything is under the flooring in the kitchen.

I am receiving contradictory information from different flooring stores that have given me estimates. Please help me figure out what is real.

1.) Do either of those tiles need to be "sealed" (whatever that is!)? Does it matter if the tile is used with or without grout?

2.) Is either more durable than the other? The floors will only see light traffic - a couple of adults most of the time.

3.) Can the tile be installed over the existing sheet vinyl, which does have a slightly indented pattern simulating grout lines?

4.) If not, what type of underlay is generally recommended?

5.) The floor in the laundry room tapers toward the floor drain. If I lay a yardstick across the floor, the drain is down about 1/2 inch. Are theses tiles flexible enough to accommodate that much taper or does the floor have to be leveled?

6.) How soon after the tiles are installed can the appliances such as refrigerator and range be reinstalled? Is it the same with and without grout? Some say they can be moved back within a couple of hours, but online I am seeing 48 to 72 hours recommended.

I look forward to any help and information you can give me based on actual experience rather than simply sales pitches.

2. ScribeRight

ScribeRight Pro Member