Installing (with Glue) Vinyl Plank Flooring for a novice

Discussion in 'Vinyl Flooring Q&A' started by GrayGator, Sep 15, 2011.

1. GrayGator

GrayGator New Member

I have several questions that I would appreciate help with. I want to put some vinyl plank (6"x36") flooring (using glue) down in one of my rooms, which I have never done before. I got the glue and the flooring free and I prefer to do it myself; I recently put laminate flooring throughout the rest of the house myself after a friend helped me get started which turned out good (even though I had never done it before either).

(1) Can I glue it over the existing flooring (Parquet Flooring)?
    (2) Are there any instructional videos that show how to apply the glue and lay the flooring?

Any information and tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for any help.

2. Jim McClain

Jim McClain Owner/Founder Administrator

Is the parquet smooth, flat and solidly adhered to the subfloor? Any glue-down vinyl flooring will telegraph any imperfections you have in the substrate. If there are any loose spots, then the new flooring will also become loose.
    It would have been nice if you would have told us what the product was and the brand of adhesive. They ain't all the same. Here is a video for generic tile installation, but your own flooring may require different procedures.

[ame=http://youtu.be/CqejHKcqnG4]Ease of installing glue down vinyl tile - YouTube[/ame]

Jim

3. GrayGator

GrayGator New Member

Here are some pictures of what I have:

Attached Files:

4. GrayGator

GrayGator New Member

5. Elmer Fudd

Elmer Fudd Administwative Asst. Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member

It appears you have a vinyl plank to install. The adhesive you have is for a wood plank, see below. The link to the flooring you provided does not show any vinyl plank, so it is hard to give any advice. Do you have any more info on the plank?
    Mapei Ultrabond ECO 980

Available in 3.5 and 5 Gallon