Inspector Training

Discussion in 'Industry News, Training & Organizations' started by Don Benham, May 11, 2016.

1. Don Benham

Don Benham Quality Control/Service Managr Charter Member

Hello all,
    I don't post here very often but I'm wondering what some of the good(best) sources for inspector certification. I have been out of full time installation (after 25 years on the floor) for 2 years now, working Quality Control for a mid-sized retailer since then.

I am moving up to Upstate NY (home) in a few weeks so I'm looking for work in the new area. I'd really be interested in becoming an inspector. I really don't want to invest money in a certification that isn't respected by the industry, or that won't give me a return on my investment.

Even if I'm not working full time as an inspector, I think it would be a good addition to my "tool box", having done most, but not all, of everything else.

Anyone able to recommend a good school for me to contact? Any flooring type.

Thank you in advance

Don

2. Mike Antonetti

Mike Antonetti I Support TFP Senior Member

FCITS? Some of CFI, NWFA? And there's Lew Migliores company, maybe ask them who is credible. I went thru FCITS many years ago, not sure how they roll today. I've been thinking about getting back into inspection services, no telling which direction I'm going.

Basically, no one installs to standards, products are junk, moisture will always be an issue, so there's plenty of work to be done. Oh yeah, floor prep usually is inadequate as well.

FloorTek EXPO 2016 | The Floor Pro Community

3. UncleCliffie

UncleCliffie Charter Member