How do you train an apprentice?

Discussion in 'Industry News, Training & Organizations' started by Jgitco, Feb 6, 2019.

1. Jgitco

Jgitco Pro Member

Hello from Illinois. I am a 30 year veteran in the flooring world and I would like to know how you train a carpet installation apprentice? I am looking for the steps that you think a new guy should go through over years, how long before they move to the next step and such.

1 trim and stuff
    2 seaming
    3 stretching

Maybe a little more detail
    1 show up on time
    2 pick up scraps
    3 gofer
    4 trim and stuff
    5 watch what the heck I’m doing and learn
    6 cut and seam some scraps
    7 seam up a closet
    8 stretch in closet
    9 make some more seams
    10 stretch in a bedroom
    11 and so on and so forth.

My question basically centers around what do you start teaching ? Trimming and stuffing?
    What do you teach last or is the hardest? Stretching? Seaming?

Obviously they are being taught demo and prep, tackstrip and padding. Just curious about others views on training new guys.

• Like Like x 2
  2. kwfloors

kwfloors Fuzz on the brain Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member

Depends on the helper a lot. I recently had a guy help for a day, I just put him in a room that needed pad and showed him how to do it. Took him 2 hours to pad a 15x13 room but I didn't care how long it took him, he was gone after that. Start with the basics, cleaning and tackstriping first and then pad. Help pack the truck and unload.

3. kylenelson

kylenelson You'll find me on the floor I Support TFP Senior Member

I do not have the answer, but you are on the right track asking the question. Do yourself a huge favor and by a book called The E-Myth, it is enlightening for any small business owner.

4. Jgitco

Jgitco Pro Member