Help: Commercial Carpet Seams are Frizzing

Discussion in 'Carpet Q&A' started by TwoStar, May 3, 2010.

1. TwoStar

TwoStar Maybe Three

I was trained by a self-taught installer who believes that "if I have been doing it this way for 20 years and I am still getting work, why change?" He happens to be my father-in-law. I have been on my own for almost 10 years. There are installation practices that I occasionally catch myself doing that I "realize" after doing for 12 years that I am probably making a mistake. This is going to sound stupid, and it hard for me to open up like this, but I have a terrible track record of frizzing commercial carpet seams and never realized why. The good news is that I don't do a huge amount of commercial work, but I might be in the future with a couple of retirements in the area.
    I searched on here for this problem and haven't seen any problems of this sort. My partner(who I taught) broke down our process and it hit both of us at the same time. I was taught to use a carpet tractor to roll my seams. Would that cause frizzing? By frizzing, I mean that I HAVE to trim my seams because the yarns will work their way out over time. It isn't always bad but it is definitely a problem that I would like remedied. Any input? What do you guys use to roll your seams? Anything info that I am not asking or sharing?

2. Daris Mulkin

Daris Mulkin The One and Only Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member

Are you row cutting? Are you seam sealing? That would be my first guesses that you aren't. You are probably jumping across rows and cutting the loops in order to make it frizz.
    Don't be afraid to ask any questions on this board we are here to help each other.

Daris

3. polestretch

polestretch Senior Member

Are we talking direct gluedown or over pad?

4. Daris Mulkin

I'd venture a guess that you aren't row cutting and /or sealing the seams. If you are row cutting then you must be jumping across and cutting a loop on the yarn.