For kitchen floor: Duraceramic, Alterna, best basic vinyl tile, or what?

Discussion in 'Vinyl Flooring Q&A' started by jlrmodlin, Jun 23, 2012.

1. jlrmodlin

jlrmodlin New Member

I'm pretty new to flooring decision-making. I've been trying to read up on luxury vinyl tile (eg Duraceramic and Armstrong's Alterna) as possible choices for a durable kitchen floor, but I am still confused. We are almost finished remodeling our kitchen but still can't decide on a floor. Our general contractor has already removed the old vinyl floor and the original lineoleum from our concrete slab floor and evened out the edges, but we’ll be ordering and paying a flooring provider separately for the floor and its installation. Cost is a consideration but not the only important one -- we want a nice looking, basic floor that above all is durable and low-maintenance.

We started out looking for the best vinyl we could find, since it would be warmer, less expensive, and easier on our joints than ceramic or porcelain tile. We were thinking vinyl tile or even sheet vinyl (want it to handle spills well) but found ourselves drawn to the Duraceramic tiles that our well-respected local flooring store showed us. Even tentatively chose our color and style. Then I heard from a friend that she is so disappointed with the Duraceramic floor she installed just a couple years ago, not even in a highly trafficked area – has problems with grout discoloring, tiles chipping, crumbling, and showing nicks and scars from just minor use. Started reading up and it seems that many professionals have had good experiences with Duraceramic but that quite a few consumers report horrible problems. Even though we don't have young children I know my family is not all that easy on a floor. This floor will cover the dining portion of our "eat-in" kitchen as well as the working kitchen and adjoining laundry room and needs to handle a table, chairs sliding back and forth, cooking spills and cleanup, and high traffic.