Fair price for small jobs

Discussion in 'Vinyl & Rubber Flooring Sales and Installations' started by brad daugherty, Apr 30, 2020.

1. brad daugherty

brad daugherty Pro Member

Alright guys sometimes I have a hard time pricing these smaller jobs so I'd like your input.
    Measured a laundry room yesterday about 70 ft and they want floating LVP. Of coarse it has shoe mold, washer and dryer, no prep just going over old sheet vinyl and 45 minutes from my house. He asked me about doing the crown molding. I told him I know how to do it, but I only install floors for a living not crown. He looked defeated so I told him I'd think about it. With this being said.. I have the slightest idea how to charge for that small area. Its gonna be primed crown molding, so I'm gonna caulk and fill holes with putty but I definitely wont be as fast as I would installing floors. What do you charge?

For that matter. What do you guys charge for small jobs like these? I find myself wanting an arm and a leg since its time consuming but I don't know if I'm being a greedy bastard or reasonable. Im wanting to say 400.00 bucks but damn that sounds high coming out of my mouth. Watcha think?

• Funny Funny x 1
  2. epoxyman

epoxyman Pro Member

We just priced 3 very small restrooms for epoxy flooring and base total about 40 sf on each floor and 25 lf of 6” epoxy base in each.
    Had to grind up the old paint and prep our work as we do.
    We was at 1,350.00 per room
    The next company that was low was 2,750.00 per room... big difference

Just figure out what you need to make a profit and charge that 400.00 seams fair
    To me.

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. Chris 45

Chris 45 Director of P.R. on some deserted island. I Support TFP

$400 a day ain’t bad money for NC. Your customer will squawk about it but your price is about what you need to make to cover your nut AND make a profit, not what they can afford.

• Agree Agree x 1