extreme direct sunlight vinyl tile question

Discussion in 'Vinyl Flooring Q&A' started by Bruce Hempel, Jan 9, 2019.

1. Bruce Hempel

Bruce Hempel Member

I'm new to luxury vinyl tile flooring and have been doing a ton of reading. I am attracted to the Adura Max vinyl tile because it claims a wider temperature range (it is ok up to 140 degrees instead of the lower temps for many other vinyl tiles) and I like the look of some of its stone-looking tiles.

When I read the Mannington's installation instructions for Adura Max here on this site (https://thefloorpro.com/files/mannington-adura-max-installation2016.pdf), on page 1 they say "Adura Max is installed as a floating floor" but the last statement in the document (p5) says "If extreme direct sunlight over 140 degree temperature is a concern an Adura glue option may be preferred".

Which of the following do they mean by that last statement?
    A) Adura Max can be glued down if you are concerned about extreme direct sunlight OR
    B) Use a different Adura glue down product if you are concerned about extreme direct sunlight.

If A is the meaning, which glue should I use?
    If B is the meaning, which Adura glue down products are recommended for extreme direct sunlight? (It seems like the glue down products I have found so far have the lower acceptable temps.)

I'm also open to recommendations of other luxury vinyl tiles with a stone look that work in extreme direct sunlight. Adura Max just happens to be the one I've found in doing my research so far. I've also come across SuperCore by Kryptonite claiming to be ok to 155 degrees but it is also a floating floor product. (Can it be glued down?)

The room in question is small (5 foot long, 4 foot wide entryway that gets hot), so the amount of expansion should be less than in a large room.

Thanks in advance for all replies!

2. Mike Antonetti

Mike Antonetti I Support TFP Senior Member

I assume wood subfloor?