Coretec Plus in 5th wheel

Discussion in 'Vinyl Flooring Q&A' started by Dick King, Dec 23, 2017.

1. Dick King

Dick King Member

I am going to install Coretec Plus 7" x 4' in our 5th wheel trailer. It has a 3/4" OSB subfloor, area is 16' long by 8' wide plus a slide out 14'x4'. We spend about 5 months of the year in this mostly camping with fishing and hunting being the objective, we got so tired of the carpet and dirt issues with it that I ripped it all out.
    My biggest concern is if I should float it or glue it down?
    I know there is going to be some issues with the slide out room and transition but I think I have that resolved, at least in my mind I do. I worked as a self employed cabinet maker for 35 years so have enough skills to do the the install I believe. ( I know there is a difference between cabinets and flooring)
    In the slide out room there is a dining area consisting of a table with two pedestal bases screwed into the floor plus two benches that are screwed to floor and wall. Also a hideabed that has brackets that screw into the floor. All these on the section that is 4' x 14'.
    Open to thoughts and suggestions!!

2. Elmer Fudd

Elmer Fudd Administwative Asst. Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member

With a floating floor movement can be an issue, my vote s a fullspread glue down.

3. kylenelson

kylenelson You'll find me on the floor Senior Member

Yeah, elmer’s advice is good. Glue is going to be kore difficult on the install, but I believe it will be a cheap insurance policy

4. Dick King

Dick King Member

Thanks for your input. Now I'll have to figure out the glue thing. Coretec suggests what to use but no how to.
    Going to be good to be rid of carpet.

5. kylenelson

I would pre cut your rows, maybe three at a time then glue only those rows then repeat

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. Dick King

Dick King Member

Thank you Kyle, that is what I was thinking.