CFI in Dallas this August

Discussion in 'Industry News, Training & Organizations' started by Rodney Henderson, Apr 15, 2016.

1. Rodney Henderson

Rodney Henderson Pro Member

I'm working on planning a trip to the CFI annual convention this august in dallas to start getting my certifications, my question is which certification ahould i get first? As of right now i install carpet, sheet vinyl, laminate, lvt products, and vct for the public. I want to branch into hardwood, i have some experience with it but not enough to do for the public. Would taking the hardwood & laminate course be the way to go or do i need to do something else for that? I figure asking you guys who have been involved with these events would have some good advice for me. Thanks!

2. Daris Mulkin

Daris Mulkin The One and Only Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member

To start with you have to have 2 years in the trades to do a certification. If you have that then it is the lower levels that you can take. But if it was me I would do what you have the most experience at. Now remember it is a test. Lower levels you can be helped but you have to do the work. Upper levels there is no help. You are given a job and you have to do it.
    Hope this helps.

:old:

Daris

3. Rodney Henderson

That does help, alot actually, thank you for that Daris!

4. Daris Mulkin

Daris Mulkin The One and Only Charter Member I Support TFP Senior Member

Now the convention itself is a real good time for networking. A lot of the tool manufacturers are there including the mill installers and higher ups. If you are like me I have my mouth open a lot just listening to the other installers and their projects. Also just a great time and good food. The time spent is on time frames so you get to know a lot of people. After hours it is time for partying or whatever suits your fancy.

:old:

Daris

5. Mike Antonetti

Mike Antonetti I Support TFP Senior Member