Carpet on basement concrete floor - drywall mud

Discussion in 'Floor Preparation' started by derenzy, Nov 10, 2015.

1. derenzy

derenzy New Member

Hello - newbie here, I'm finishing my basement.
    Drywallers just left and my basement, concrete floor is a MESS!

I have scraped all the chunks down to level and even, swept and vacuumed.

STILL, there are white spots everywhere
    Even taking water to some of them and scrubbing still leave a slight color

I plan on putting in carpet

How much do I really need to remove of the drywall mud residue?

please and thanks in advance

2. Jim McClain

Jim McClain Owner/Founder Administrator

Stretching carpet over a pad should not be affected by drywall mud residue. As long as it's smooth and flat, you'll be fine.

I deleted your other thread. You only need one.

3. derenzy

derenzy New Member

first of all, thanks, and sorry for the duplicate post, I wasn't sure to put it in carpet or prep category

The mud will all be scrapped and flat...however basement floors "sweat" and drywall mud/drywall can mold...it will then be a mold fest under the pad and or create mold into the pad?

4. Hanover Fist

Hanover Fist Pro Member

What kind of pad are you putting under the carpet?
    Some pads like rebond or natural fiber will allow small amounts of moisture to pass through, others like foam/rubber will lock the moisture down, and the mud CAN mold - but not likely.
    I've only ever seen mold form under pad (and I've pulled up a million jobs) when there was direct water in copious amounts.

5. derenzy

derenzy New Member

hi hanover - thanks for your reply - that is a relief.
    well, its a concrete basement floor that I would like to put c arpet down - what type of padding do you recommend?

6. kylenelson

kylenelson You'll find me on the floor Senior Member