Apprentice & need input

Discussion in 'Ceramic & Stone Sales and Installations' started by Toronto77, Jun 7, 2017.

1. Toronto77

Toronto77 Rooky Trainee

I just graduated from tile/terrazzo/marble trade school on Fri & I am a registered apprentice. Had a situation happen to me today & wanted input from the more seasoned tilers here.

I answered an ad a contractor posted needing a tiler for a condo being built. I was VERY upfront on my status as an apprentice & that I wanted to work with a seasoned tiler to get my feet wet.

He assigns me to a bathroom to tile the shower walls & got angry when I asked him questions. A couple of hrs later he comes in & complains I am slow and again gets mad when I ask any questions at all. I don't see him again until around 330pm. He gets pissed at how I did the tile cuts around the shower faucet and rips one of the tiles off the wall & throws to the ground. Again reiterating how slow I am. He then takes over & starts finishing the shower but asking me to use the grinder to make the cuts. One of the cuts was very complicated & the tile broke - he gets mad yet again that the tile broke. I packed up my knee pads & hard hat & walked out.

My question: is this normal behaviour towards an apprentice who has just got out of trade school? How would any of you treat a new apprentice? Keep in mind I was totally upfront and truthful about my qualifications. I don't need my hand held but also can't do a job for the first time without some direction...?!

• Like Like x 1
  2. epoxyman

epoxyman Pro Member

Well first off congrats on you doing you school and wanting to learn on how to do things right and with pride.

The guy you are working for sounds like a jerk and if I was you I'd look for a new job asap this guy is bitter in life and will just drag you down with him.

I started my flooring trade doing tile mud floors mud walls epoxy grouts had some really good older guys teach me and I'm for every thankful for all they did for me.